top of page
  • SuePattonThoele

The Three-A Map

AWARENESS: Become aware of your feelings. Inner

awareness is the beginning of outer change.

ACKNOWLEDGMENT: Tell a trusted friend or counselor

about your awareness.

ACCEPTANCE: Honor where you are and what you are

feeling. Be gentle with yourself. You are okay just as you

are, even as you seek to change.

The first and most basic step for any change or growth, no matter how small, is to know what we feel, how we think, and how we would like to alter our lives. In other words, we

need to be aware of where we are and where we want to go. It’s then important to acknowledge where we are to someone else. Acknowledgment keeps us honest and helps us break out of denial. When we realistically acknowledge what we have become aware of to ourselves and to a trusted friend, we are more likely to move forward. Finally, acceptance alleviates shame and guilt and helps propel us out of limiting patterns while energizing us for needed change.

Excerpted from The Courage to Be Yourself by Sue Patton Thoele. Available on Mango and Amazon.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page